LINPS Welcomes Michael A. Hershey, MD

Dr. Michael Allen Hershey

Diplomate, American Board of Anesthesiology & Pain Medicine

LINPS is pleased to welcome Dr. Michael A. Hershey, a board certified Anesthesiologist with subspecialty certification in Pain Medicine. Dr. Hershey received his medical degree from the Weill Cornell Medical College, and his undergraduate degree from Columbia University, graduating with honors. He will be treating patients out of our LINPS Smithtown office, located on the St. Catherine of Siena Hospital campus.

After completing his residency in Anesthesiology at Columbia, Dr. Hershey finished fellowship training in Pain Medicine at the prestigious NYU Langone Medical Center.

Prior to residency, Dr. Hershey also completed a research fellowship in Neurological Surgery at Weill Cornell Medical College.  His passion for medical research is evidenced by his contribution to numerous publications that investigate state-of-the-art pain treatments that safely and effectively treat a broad spectrum of pain syndromes and conditions.


Intrathecal Morphine Pump in Managing Intractable Low Back Pain with Severe COPD.  Chen Q, Hershey MA, Largi J, Zou S. American Society of Regional Anesthesia Annual meeting in San Diego, CA Nov 17-19, 2016.

Bisphosphonates and Calcitonin: Novel Adjunctive Treatment for Complex Regional Pain Syndrome in a Pediatric Patient. Hershey MA, Rivera E, Reddy P, Matthew L. Columbia University Department of Anesthesiology Academic Evening, New York, NY, May 20, 2015.

Temperature probe position confounding double lumen endotracheal tube placement for ventriculopleural shunt.. Schaff J, Hershey MA, Kim M, Goswami S. Society of Cardiovascular Anesthesiologists Annual Meeting in Washington, DC. Apil 11-14, 2015.

Improvement in pain after lumbar surgery in cancer patients with mechanical radiculopathy. Moliterno J, Veselis CA, Hershey MA, Lis E, Laufer I, Bilsky MH. Spine J. 2014 Oct 1;14(10):2434-9.

Pten Silencing Attenuates Dopamine-induced Ca2+ Influx in Striatal Neurons. Stavarache MA, Hershey MA, Musatov, SA, Kaplitt MG. Society for Neuroscience Annual Meeting in Washington, DC Nov 12-16 2011.